What’s this inside?

gromit1Any clues?

gromit2Who’s this little chap popping his head out? Why it’s Gromit of course! Just started working on my statue last week as part of the Gromit Unleashed show this summer in Bristol. Eighty of this little huge guys will be dotted around the city in order to raise funds for charity.

gromit3These little guys are, well, not so little, and I was a bit daunted by the size, and by also working in 3D. But bravely I made a start and can show you the base coat here.

gromit4And that is all I can show you folks, as everyone involved is sworn to secrecy as to how the finished pieces are going to look. And this Gromit crowd are brutal, trust me. I don’t think they would think twice of giving me a good hiding if I break the rules. I’ve said too much now. All I can add is that some of the finished ones I’ve seen are astounding. The city of Bristol is going to be a riot of colour this summer. Until I can show the finished piece, I’m shutting up about it completely.

About Donough O' Malley

Irish Illustrator based in the UK.
This entry was posted in exhibition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

