Goodbye Gromit!!

gromit

Last night saw the amazing climax of the Gromit Unleashed exhibition with the auction of all eighty statues. I was there to say goodbye to my Gromit-O-Matic.

gromit auction

The auction was to raise funds for Bristol’s Children’s Hospital, and while the organisers had expected each statue to go for a minimum of five thousand pounds, as soon as TV presenter Tim Wonnacott rapped the hammer to start on the first lot all expectations were thrown out the window. The gasps were pretty audible as the first Gromit shot up from £5,000 to £36,000 in literally seconds. This just set the pace for the rest of the evening as at one stage Mister Wonnacott struggled for breath while announcing each bid from both the packed pavillion and the internet. The internet itself struggled also to keep up with the rapid flurry of bids.

My Gromit-O-Matic was lot 28, and I can saw it’s one of the only times in my life my jaw dropped when the opening bid was started at £10,000 and rapidly shot up to £26,000. It far exceeded any amounts I had in my head. As the night went on the bids rose higher and higher, and climaxed with the amazing Pixar Gromit Lightyear going to a private online buyer for the cool tune of £65,000. A grand total of 2.3 million pounds was raised for the Hospital in just a few hours, an amazing result for what has been an amazing experience for so many people and the city of Bristol. I have no idea who bought Gromit-O-Matic, or where he will end up, but thank you who ever did. He wll be missed, like all of them, but if anybody sees him anywhere, I would love to know how he is doing.

About Donough O' Malley

Irish Illustrator based in the UK.
This entry was posted in exhibition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Gromit!!

  1. Just wanted to say how much I love your work on this Gromit. (I found a photo randomly looking through google search and it caught my eye.) Bravo! -David, creator of Desktop Gremlins Paper Craft

Leave a Reply

