2013, my year in Illustration

2013

With 2013 all wrapped up and in the bag, before 2014 kicks off properly I thought I would share with you some of the projects that I was lucky enough to be involved with over the past twelve months.

world_of_norm4

The year got off to a great start with World of Norm being a finalist in the Red House Book Awards, and despite being pipped at the post by the colossus that is David Walliams, good old Norm went on to win the Scottish Book Trust Awards. Book number five also came out, and there is many more exciting projects with the pre-teen on the way.

giselle_illustration

Also at the start of the year, I took part in a group exhibition with Illustrators Ireland and the Birmingham Royal Ballet company that was going to tour with their latest production of Giselle.

omalley_illustration_16

The Poop deck card project with Ammo magazine got off to a flying start with all decks selling out at the opening night at the Coningsby gallery in London.

gromit

Gromit Unleashed was a major event this year and transformed the city of Bristol. I was very, very happy when my Gromit-O-Matic raised  £26,000 for the Children’s Hospital.

pictuir

The Pictuír exhibition, organised by Children’s Books Ireland was a massive success, seen by tens of thousands of people across Europe before returning to Ireland for its final stint at IMMA.

hammond-cover-my-blog

My first book with Random House came out, and it was for none other than him off the telly.

zonda_illustration Wine Republic in Argentina keep hitting me with great and interesting briefs, lots more to come with them!

superstition_illustration

The Art of Superstition was a group show in Dublin with Illustrators Ireland, one I was very proud to take part in. More news will follow soon about where it will tour next.

domalley_no_cars_go

I was very lucky and honoured to be invited by Damn Fine Print to take part in their ‘Sounds Damn Fine’ exhibition. All my prints sold out which is something I am very pleased with.

To cap the year off though, I just found out at the end of December that my illustration for the Giselle exhibition was a winner in Creative Quarterly to be included in their next magazine. Based in New York, this periodical is highly reputed and I was very, very chuffed to not only have one image win, but to have a second a runner-up.

There are lots more images and stories to tell from throughout the year, but I won’t bore you all to tears, 2014 is shaping up already with a few exciting projects on the way soon so save your attention span for whats to come, and thanks to everyone for the support in the past year.

About Donough O' Malley

Irish Illustrator based in the UK.
This entry was posted in book, Editorial, exhibition, Illustration, Magazine, print, publishing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

